First post

crop

I should probably admit right away that I am somewhat technologically challenged. So starting a blog has been confusing and a bit intimidating for me but I’m giving it a try. I’m sure it will take me awhile to figure this all out and if you have any comments or suggestions I’d be happy to hear them.

I’m hoping by blogging I will find a supportive community of people to share encouragement, knowledge, feedback and friendship. I am self taught and still have so much to learn. I’ve loved to paint and create all my life but never allowed my self to take it seriously, I’ve always been too insecure and afraid. Afraid of failure, not being good enough, being rejected… I’ve always thought of other people as being  real artists. Not me. But after a lifetime of doing things I thought I should do or be, but that left me unfulfilled and unhappy, I’ve realized the only thing stopping me from painting…. is me. And by that logic, the only person who can allow or make me paint is once again, me. So that’s what this blog is about, the process of becoming the artist I’ve always wanted to be. I hope to share art, the creative process that goes into a painting, musings and observations of my daily life. I think it will also help me to be more productive. if I have to admit here what I’ve been up to since my last post, perhaps I’ll feel more pressure to accomplish things in my studio.

3 thoughts on “First post

  1. I’m so glad to welcome you into the world of blogging! I look forward to reading more of your musings and see more of your art. I want to leave you with a quote that I love and think it applies to you as well…

    “Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.” — George Bernard Shaw

    Like

Leave a Reply

