NIght Owls, Unite!

I have come to realize I’m a night owl. It takes me all day to get ready to be productive. Trey is gone with his Dad and Glenn is back in Alberta. I thought I’d get a lot done today but had a discouraging start in the studio today. Just couldn’t get the background quite right for a painting I wanted to start. I took a break in the early afternoon and made vegan seitan donair meat. Whooo boy! For anyone not from Nova Scotia, donair is a spicy meat, shaved thin, placed on a greek pita, with red onions, tomatoes, sweet garlicky donair sauce and mozza cheese. It’s generally seen as a greasy fast food best eaten at pizza corner on your way home from a heavy night of drinkng. I’ve never really been one for drinking but I used to love eating donairs back when I was an omnivore. I am a reluctant vegetarian and have been for the better part of ten years. I like meat, I like the taste, smell and texture of meat. I like how satisfying it is. Β I’ve been exploring the wonders of home made seitan, aka “wheat meat”. It’s awesome. high in protein, chewy, tasty and very satisfying. So today I decided to try this recipe http://vspot16.wordpress.com/tag/vegan-donair/… it’s awesome! I can’t wait for Glenn to come home so he can try it too. Step daughter is making it tonight for her BF who is a chef, wonder what he’ll think. Ah, he’ll love it because she made it πŸ™‚

Anyways, back to the real reason for posting, after a donair break to recharge my creative drive I finally made some headway with a painting. Still have a way to go but I’m off to a good solid start.

Here is the background with some outlines taking shape

ravens, crows, painting, acrylic

outlines of ravens

 

ravens, crows, painting

Just starting to block in some tones

raven, painting

bit more done

raven painting

getting there

crow painting

still needs lots of work

 

And I think that’s it for tonight. Trey comes home tomorrow and I need some rest. Going to join this creature….

Poodle, sleeping, dog

Let it ALL hang out!

 

I’ll post more tomorrow and hopefully get caught up on all the blogs I follow. It’s been too long….

11 thoughts on “NIght Owls, Unite!

  1. It all looks great thus far, the background looks fantastic though. Can’t wait to see it when it’s finished! I actually stopped by your page the other day to see if you had posted anything new. lol

    Like

    • Thanks guys πŸ™‚ I’m having a little trouble getting back to it as Nova Scotia got dumped on again with freezing rain and snow. My son missed two days of school last week because of it and one day because of doctors appointments and one because of an inservice. So I haven’t had a lot of uninterrupted time to paint. I’ll get back to it ASAP and update my progress then. Whew! Sometimes life is just crazy busy it seems πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I love how one looks surprised and the other looks skeptical. I do love that background, too. Looking great!!! oh btw, how does one become a reluctant vegetarian?

    Like

    • Thanks Jaime πŸ™‚ Sorry to leave you hanging there. As I said to Joe, life has been hectic and I’m having trouble getting back to it. Soon though, I hope!

      As for being a reluctant vegetarian, well that’s pretty simple. I was raised eating meat and truth be told, I LOVE the taste and texture of meat and how satisfying it is, but…. Through a series of experiences* I’ve just come to not feel right about eating animals. Especially not those raised in our modern day factory farms. For awhile I ate wild meat and fish, eventually I made the switch to pescetarian and then vegetarian. And recently I’ve cut out most dairy although I have found giving up cheese on my pizza very difficult! I won’t ever give up eggs that my own hens have laid as I know they have a terrific life and have no real interest in hatching the eggs 95% of the time. And when they go broody I will let them sit if it isn’t winter. I’ve mostly been vegetarian for a bit more than ten years now. But I still miss meat at times. Hence the “reluctant” vegetarian title πŸ™‚

      Trey isn’t a vegetarian and neither is Glenn although Glenn only eats meat on occasion if we are at a restaurant. Trey eats meat at his Dad’s and Grandmothers house and every time we eat out. I also will cook him hamburgers that my Mother sends down to him when she gets her beef in the fall. He often requests chicken when we are at the grocery store and I always get it for him. I figure it’s his choice to make just as it is everyone else’s. I don’t sugar coat it, he knows what he’s eating and he’s ok with it. He also knows my reasons for not eating meat. I hope he will hunt when he is older if he decides he will always eat meat.

      He just went out to collect eggs and to spend some time cuddling and singing to Big Mamma, my oldest hen. He has so much sympathy for her because her partner, Big Daddy died last year and she is no longer top chicken. I wonder if he will ever give up meat. He sure loves the chickens and tells me so, followed with “I also love the taste of them!” :p

      *A couple films that I found enlightening and that made me rethink meat in my diet were: David suzuki and the Nature of Things, Corporate Agriculture: The Hollow-men ~this is hard to find online but it’s worth the hunt. Robert F. Kennedy appears in it and speaks eloquently on the impact industrial agriculture is having on the social fabric of small town America. And Dr. Suzuki is just plain awesome in my eyes. Love that man!
      Also, -Animals by Jason Young. Great documentary my ex husband did some sound engineering on. I was lucky enough to see the unedited version and know that the final scene ran more than 10 minutes originally. Keep that in mind if you decide to watch it. https://www.nfb.ca/film/animals

      Neither of these films are “pro-vegetarian” or particularly graphic. And they aren’t your typical hysterical peta type film – I despise shock tactics employed by some animal rights groups! Just good honest information.

      Hope my answer doesn’t upset anyone πŸ™‚

      Ultimately my reasons for being vegetarian are multifaceted. It’s partly social, environmental, spiritual and about animal rights. No simple one size fits all answer, really.

      Like

      • That is so sweet about Trey singing and holding Big Mamma. I don’t think I’ll watch any of those films, but I respect your decision. Our whole agriculture could stand for big changes, that’s for sure.

        I hope you’re finding time to paint, I only squeezed in 30 minutes today and I’ve got shows coming in just weeks… Yikes!

        Like

  3. Do you ever draw night owls? I was just thinking maybe it takes one to draw one. Or perhaps I just stayed up too late last night working on a piece of writing and my thinking is still fuzzy this morning.

    Like

    • I haven’t yet, Aunt Beulah, but I will eventually branch out beyond ravens and crows. Given the popularity of owls, I’m sure it would be well received. Once I’ve got more confidence and the crows stop calling to me I’ll start spreading my wings, so to speak πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Hello! ☺️☺️
    I have nominated you for The Sunshine Award!
    http://mejfote.wordpress.com/2014/04/19/the-sunshine-award/

    Like

  5. Loved checking out your site. Can’t help but wonder if you’re going to put your remarkable draftsmanship and ability to capture details into depicting those gorgeous hens (and a rooster?) that I saw in your summer posts? Although the romance and starkness of the crows… I can totally get behind that. Lovely.

    Like

    • Thanks Jennifer. I do plan on painting my girls (and boy) if I can just get out of my own way enough to make some real headway in the studio. Do you struggle with ignoring dishes, laundry, and all the other things on the should and could list? Is your studio in your home?

      Like

Leave a Reply

