Trying to get better pictures…

Photographing paintings is very challenging. It’s hard to get a good representation of the real thing. Individual computer monitors, lighting, contrast, brightness, glare…. it’s something I’m really struggling with.

My brother was kind enough to come take pictures for me today but his computer died before he was able to finish burning them for me so I only have a few to post.

I’m finding this one is looking a little dark on my monitor…

painting, Two Ravens  on a birch branch full moon

Looks really dark on my monitor.

I never did post any close ups so here are a few that I took with my iphone, so not the best quality but it’s what I have.ravens, birch, full moon, moon, night, branchmoon, raven, night, crow, birchraven, night, moon, birch, carylic, paintingraven, branch, birch, moon. I haven’t named  this painting and would love to hear any feedback on that.

It’s been much longer between posts than I had hoped it would be but you know how it is, life gets busy sometimes. I have managed to get a bit more painting done on the piece I posted about last. I wasn’t happy with the neck on one of the birds and ended up changing that and in the process I made the background much more vibrant. I love bright green. My house is bright green, my studio walls are bright green and Atreyu’s room is bright green. With spring finally peeking at Nova Scotia I am craving colour! This painting should fit the bill!bright, spring, green, ravens, crow, branch, work in progressHere is a little close up of the heckyl and Jeckyl 🙂bright, spring, green, ravens, crow, branch, work in progressThe guy on the left is the one I adjusted the neck on. Here is what it was before in case you were wondering…

raven painting

before

and the guy on the right now…bright, spring, green, ravens, crow, branch, work in progress

 

I’m planning on adding some apple blossoms next. But first I am off to take Jaxxon for a walk with my friend Sydney and her gorgeous, huge doodle named Finnegan. I’ll post later with an update after I start the flowers. Hope you are all having an awesome long weekend!

4 thoughts on “Trying to get better pictures…

  1. I love the painting of the moon with the crows. I have a thing about the moon too.

    Like

  2. Your paintings are beautiful! I really like the close up you did of the crow with the moon in the backround – #Gorgeous. The contrast really captures ones attention!

    Shame you do not have a giant scanner to scan the images on – they usually present a little better than a photograph does!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am just seeing your comment now for some
      Reason. Thank you, Miss Lou, I too, wish I could scan my paintings.

      I haven’t been painting much lately and have been a bit discouraged.

      I appreciate you taking the time to look and comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

